RSS

Don’t leave home without these…my favorite fabulous travel companions

25 Apr

Just got back from a very exciting trip to NYC, ok beyond exciting, thrilling actually. Yesterday I met with The Bobbi Brown! And she was absolutely fabulous and wonderful and I am so grateful that I could spend time with such a talented superstar who by the by, also adores flackers. ( especially the new ones, cinnamon currants.)

Well I can go on about that but I digress….So what are my favorite travel companions? Well, naturally they are food, aside from a few items of clothing I would guess that at least a third of my baggage is filled with edibles. You never know if you will get stranded, or delayed and so I make sure that in case of an emergency, I will not go hungry, nor will I miss out on my daily nutrition! 

For starters I always travel with flackers to make sure that I am going to get omega-3 fatty acids and of course plenty of fiber. Traveling and sitting on long journeys really can slow down the GI system so many people including myself have to have fiber. The other item I never leave home with is chocolate, dark chocolate to be specific. I add a few sprouted nuts and seeds to my mix so that my sweet tooth is balanced with protein and good fats, and I am god to go!

We know that it is good for you-and thank god for that! They make for the perfect sweet snack that I can enjoy daily without any guilt. I always take my own because I want to make sure that the cocoa content is greater than 65% and I want to make sure that the main ingredient is not sugar. The only way I can do this is to bring my own.

My next favorite must have when traveling is a chocolate green beverage that I adore called ‘amazon chocolate’ and/or ‘amazing grass”, both wonderful. Just add water and voila, I have my rich tasting, healthy low-calorie, superfood beverage. I actually carry a BPA free bottle with me, pour in the powder but no water until I go through security, (yes, it is still code orange alert these days), but then simply add H2O and it is fabulous. Keeping well hydrated is key to successful traveling. It will keep you feeling energized and well lubricated on those dry flights. 

Naturally I have a few more goodies in my travel bag but no matter if I am traveling across the country or just within city limits, these are my favorite saviours that have served me quite well.

http://amazinggrass.com/

www.greensplus.com

www.flackers.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
